Why do people?


tears-are-how-my-eyes-speak-when-my-lips-cant-describe-how-much-i-have-been-hurt-paul-lovering
under the cloudy skies that
stand in the way of the sun
i hold the cashmere shawl tightly
bracing myself against the steely breeze
and as the waves repeatedly thrash the rocky coast,
i wonder and i wonder again
why do people you love hurt you the most?
words that attack you like knives
slicing your heart, making you bleed
a tongue that refuses to retaliate
the body turns devoid of emotional need
and as those judgements against me you boast
i wonder why do people you love hurt you the most.
a measuring stick i can never measure to
an overcoat too big for me or too small
i can never be the right size
meet the standards set by man
as of my previous self i slowly become a ghost
i wonder and then wonder some more
why do people you love hurt you the most.
Safire.
January 5th, 2017
12:24 pm
Thursday

Tell me what you think?