I’m still here. :)


It’s been so long since I have blogged. It’s pure procrastination. But today is a new day.

 

First things first, I am not feeling my best. I thought that my sinus woes were over. But this crazy humidity has seen its return with vengeance. I can’t sleep properly as it’s so difficult to breathe and as a result I am just sleepy and worn out the next day. I have also for the first time developed this crazy eye infection. They are itchy and red and watery and sometimes when I wake up in the middle of the night my eye lashes are stuck together (seriously) and I have to gently pry them apart. I have tried three different eye drops by now. I will visit the doctor again tonight. InshaAllah. :(

 

For the sinus, it’s back to drinking a spoonful of honey in a pint of warm water with a half a lemon squeezed into it for good measure- first thing in the morning i.e.

 

There is something else on my mind as well. My wedding (rukhsati) is a few months away and I have done NOTHING. There is just soo much to do. First things first, the venue and the caterer and then gosh! THE DRESS! I just am not bride material you know. I have never actually dreamed or visualized my wedding. Sitting in front of all these people is uh.. daunting. And then married life. I am just freaked out knowing that even my rotis (chapattis) are far from perfect. *eek*

 

But the thought of spending my life with hubby soothes my worries. AlHamdulilAllah. <3

 

Poor hubby was under the weather last night too. He came over for a bit to avoid the predictable traffic jam in Karachi after rain. And he got me garam garam gulab jamuns which we had over cardamom and cinnamon tea. He knew i was craving to have them in this lovely weather.

I wonder if he knows that sometimes when I look at him, I say so many silent prayers for his long life, his health, his strong heart, his happiness, his success and his smile. Ameen. Ameen. Ameen.

 

Yes, it is true. Nikah enjoins two souls in the most beautiful and unique of ways. He makes my heart grow bigger. MashaAllah.

 

Please keep us in your duas. <3

 

وَمِنْ آيَاتِهِ أَنْ خَلَقَ لَكُمْ مِنْ أَنْفُسِكُمْ أَزْوَاجًا لِتَسْكُنُوا إِلَيْهَا وَجَعَلَ بَيْنَكُمْ مَوَدَّةً وَرَحْمَةً ۚ نَّ فِي ذَٰلِكَ لَآيَاتٍ لِقَوْمٍ يَتَفَكَّرُونَ

 

Surah 30. Ar-Rum, Ayah 21 of the Holy Quran

“And among His Signs is this that He created for you mates from among yourselves that ye may dwell in tranquillity with them and He has put love and mercy between your (hearts); verily in that are Signs for those who reflect.”

 

Translation by Yusuf Ali.

Image

10 thoughts on “I’m still here. :)

  1. That’s such a beautiful post. May Allah (swt) increase your marriage in barakah, love, compassion, and understanding. May Allah (swt) make you companions in Jannatul Firdaws. Allahuma ishfeeki!! I hope you feel better soon. I am happy to see you are back to writing. You were missed!

  2. Hope your eye is better now. One thing that was mostly suggested to me by docs was cleaning eyes with boric acid powder. You can check with chemist and use.

    • it turned out to be very bad viral eye infection. have been prescribed two eye drops to be used around 6 times a day and an eye ointment to be used before going to sleep. :)

  3. Something you wrote here has caught my attention, quote:

    “I wonder if he knows that sometimes when I look at him, I say so many silent prayers for his long life, his health, his strong heart, his happiness, his success and his smile. Ameen. Ameen. Ameen.”

    This is something I have been doing for someone who entered my life recently. Although my reputation, as what it is at the moment, means that I would never achieve or get this person to hold that position of a wife in my life, I secretly hope and pray to the power above to give her happiness, success and the ability to stay on the right path.

    This quote above, thought simple words, put together projects a powerful image in my mind. There are people like you in the world, there are people like that girl called Simren who entered into my life, then there are people like me – who simply get everything on a plate ‘literally’ but when it comes down to getting what I deeply desire – it simply is not possible.

    • :) Thanks for the lovely comment.

      Prayers are the best gift you can give anyone.

      If it is any comfort, no one is perfect. I am definitely not perfect and neither is my husband. Sometimes it is the imperfectness which makes two people
      perfect. There is learning in everything that happens to us.

      It is clear that the girl has a very special place in your heart. All the best. :)

Tell me what you think?

