I think, therefore I am.


The Question:

What is the purpose of your existence? How long will your foot-prints last in the sands of time?I have an expiry date , so why should I run around to be so much to be successful in life? What will that achieve ?

https://i2.wp.com/th08.deviantart.net/fs27/300W/f/2008/035/1/7/Existence_Is_Punishment_by_werol.jpg

My answer:

“Na tha kuchh toh Khuda tha,

kuchh na hota toh Khuda hota

Duboya Mujhko hone ne,

na hota Main toh kya hota ?”

“When there was nothing, there was God
If nothing had been, God would have been
My very being has been my downfall
If I hadn’t been, what would it have mattered?”

– Mirza Ghalib

When i look at the constellations and the never-ending universe, the small miracles in everyday life, the literal helplessness that i have in not having the knowledge of tomorrow and death itself, i give up asking the questions , and i am at peace. I know i have been created for a reason, and the reason , at least for me, is to help people, spread love and submit myself to the will of Allah. The more i complicate things, the more restless, clueless and prone to disaster i feel i am. Been through it once, and i do not fall into the same ditch again. sometimes not knowing is empowerment.

6 thoughts on “I think, therefore I am.

  1. You nailed it SafIRE ! There is no one looking at you except God, and He is in the face of everyone you see. You are the love, the light you seek. Look in the mirror ..Wishing and hoping keep you seeking something outside your self . There IS nothing out there out there! The prophecy is unfolding now. This is the time we have been waiting for. All you have to do is be present. Just breathe. And it all becomes silent. And peaceful. And clear. And simple. Oh that lovely feeling….nowhere to go.
    Stay Peaceful ! cuz that is the way we “really ” are.

    We need not join the mad rush to purchase an earthly fallout shelter. God is our eternal fallout shelter. ~Martin Luther King, Jr., Strength to Love, 1963

  2. The more i complicate things, the more restless, clueless and prone to disaster i feel i am.

    Thats exactly the case with me, but the pity is that I cant be at peace. I fall to the ditch of conundrums again and again :(

    A good, thought provoking post!

  3. the eternal and the universal question, isn’t it?? what am i here for? what is the purpose of my existence? the questions that have haunted and troubled many.. and u have used one of my favorite Ghalib shers to answer that..
    the word “main” refers to one’s ego, i think…it’s only when we relinquish our claim to this ‘self’ or our egos we will understand the purpose of our being in this grand scheme of things which is indeed nothing more than playing our part the right way and the best possible way without expections and leave the rest to the higher being.. afterall, u really have no control on the fruits of your labor anyway..
    like Bhagwatgeeta says, “Karmanye vadhikaraste ma phaleshu kadachana”, meaning, you have the right to action but you are not entitled to the fruits of your action..

Tell me what you think?

